Archive:Docs/DesktopUserGuideFC6/SharingDesktop

From FedoraProject

< Archive:Docs/DesktopUserGuideFC6(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
m (1 revision(s))
 
(One intermediate revision by one user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
= Sharing Your Desktop =
 
= Sharing Your Desktop =
  
{| border="1"
+
{{Admon/caution | Use this capability carefully | Remote desktop sharing can be a serious security risk. It should be turned on only when needed and not left active.}}
|-
+
| {{Template:Caution}} '''Use this capability carefully'''
+
|-
+
| Remote desktop sharing can be a serious security risk. It should be turned on only when needed and not left active.
+
|}
+
  
 
Fedora provides a means to share a user's desktop remotely across the network. This is useful for receiving technical support from a remote location or for demonstrating a desktop feature to another user.  You may also find it a useful way to remotely access the files on your desktop from another computer.
 
Fedora provides a means to share a user's desktop remotely across the network. This is useful for receiving technical support from a remote location or for demonstrating a desktop feature to another user.  You may also find it a useful way to remotely access the files on your desktop from another computer.
Line 19: Line 14:
 
This procedure describes the most secure method to share a desktop.
 
This procedure describes the most secure method to share a desktop.
  
1. Under ''Sharing'', check the box ''Allow other users to view your desktop''.
+
# Under ''Sharing'', check the box ''Allow other users to view your desktop''.
1. Next, check ''Allow other users to control your desktop''.
+
# Next, check ''Allow other users to control your desktop''.
1. Make a note of the command listed under ''Users can view your desktop using this command:''
+
# Make a note of the command listed under ''Users can view your desktop using this command:''
1. Under ''Security'', check the box ''Ask you for confirmation''.
+
# Under ''Security'', check the box ''Ask you for confirmation''.
1. Next, check ''Require the user to enter this password'' and enter a password.
+
# Next, check ''Require the user to enter this password'' and enter a password.
1. Finally, click on the ''Close'' button.
+
# Finally, click on the ''Close'' button.
  
 
Be sure to inform the person performing remote technical support/viewing the command from step three, as well as the assigned password. When the person connects to your desktop, click on the ''Yes'' button when asked for confirmation.
 
Be sure to inform the person performing remote technical support/viewing the command from step three, as well as the assigned password. When the person connects to your desktop, click on the ''Yes'' button when asked for confirmation.
Line 30: Line 25:
 
Once the remote viewing feature is no longer needed, turn off desktop sharing:
 
Once the remote viewing feature is no longer needed, turn off desktop sharing:
  
1. Select ''System > Preferences > Remote Desktop''
+
# Select ''System > Preferences > Remote Desktop''
1. Uncheck the ''Allow other users to view your desktop'' box
+
# Uncheck the ''Allow other users to view your desktop'' box
1. Click on the ''Close'' button.
+
# Click on the ''Close'' button.
  
 
This turns off the remote desktop sharing feature.
 
This turns off the remote desktop sharing feature.
  
----
+
{|
 
+
{| border="1"
+
 
|-
 
|-
 
|[[Docs/DesktopUserGuide/Photos| Previous Page - Managing Photos]] ||[[Docs/DesktopUserGuide| Table of Contents]] ||[[Docs/DesktopUserGuide/Customizing| Next Page - Customizing the Desktop]]
 
|[[Docs/DesktopUserGuide/Photos| Previous Page - Managing Photos]] ||[[Docs/DesktopUserGuide| Table of Contents]] ||[[Docs/DesktopUserGuide/Customizing| Next Page - Customizing the Desktop]]
 
|}
 
|}
----
+
 
 
[[Category:Documentation]]
 
[[Category:Documentation]]

Latest revision as of 18:06, 4 March 2009

[edit] Sharing Your Desktop

Stop (medium size).png
Use this capability carefully
Remote desktop sharing can be a serious security risk. It should be turned on only when needed and not left active.

Fedora provides a means to share a user's desktop remotely across the network. This is useful for receiving technical support from a remote location or for demonstrating a desktop feature to another user. You may also find it a useful way to remotely access the files on your desktop from another computer.

To activate desktop sharing, select System > Preferences > Remote Desktop from the user menu. This opens the Remote Desktop Preferences window:


Docs DesktopUserGuide SharingDesktop remdesktopshare.png

This procedure describes the most secure method to share a desktop.

  1. Under Sharing, check the box Allow other users to view your desktop.
  2. Next, check Allow other users to control your desktop.
  3. Make a note of the command listed under Users can view your desktop using this command:
  4. Under Security, check the box Ask you for confirmation.
  5. Next, check Require the user to enter this password and enter a password.
  6. Finally, click on the Close button.

Be sure to inform the person performing remote technical support/viewing the command from step three, as well as the assigned password. When the person connects to your desktop, click on the Yes button when asked for confirmation.

Once the remote viewing feature is no longer needed, turn off desktop sharing:

  1. Select System > Preferences > Remote Desktop
  2. Uncheck the Allow other users to view your desktop box
  3. Click on the Close button.

This turns off the remote desktop sharing feature.

Previous Page - Managing Photos Table of Contents Next Page - Customizing the Desktop