Base/Governance Charter

From FedoraProject

< Base(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Current Members: update dennis)
(Current Members)
Line 11: Line 11:
=== Current Members ===
=== Current Members ===
* [[User:pknirsch | Phil Knirsch]]: Representing
* [[User:pknirsch | Phil Knirsch]]: Representing Red Hat BaseOS Engineering
* [[User:Ausil | Dennis Gilmore]]: Representing Release Engineering
* [[User:Ausil | Dennis Gilmore]]: Representing Release Engineering
* [[User:harald | Harald Hoyer]]: Representing the Red Hat Plumbers Team
* [[User:harald | Harald Hoyer]]: Representing the Red Hat Plumbers Team
* [[User:notting | Bill Nottingham]]: Representing
* [[User:notting | Bill Nottingham]]: Representing Engineering vision
* [[User:masta | Jon Disnard]]: Representing
* [[User:masta | Jon Disnard]]: Representing Embedded systems
* [[User:dwalsh | Dan Walsh]]: Representing
* [[User:dwalsh | Dan Walsh]]: Representing Security
* [[User:jwb | Josh Boyer]]: Representing
* [[User:jwb | Josh Boyer]]: Representing Kernel
* [[User:jreznik | Jaroslav Reznik]]: Representing
* [[User:jreznik | Jaroslav Reznik]]: Representing Program Management
* [[User:subhendu | Subhendu Ghosh]]: Representing
* [[User:subhendu | Subhendu Ghosh]]: Representing Product Management
=== Making Decisions ===
=== Making Decisions ===

Revision as of 14:30, 11 November 2013


Fedora Base WG Governance

This document describes the governing structure for the Fedora Base WG.


The Fedora Base Working Group has nine voting members. We encourage involvement in the Base Working Group from all parts of the Fedora Project.

Each voting member of the working group will confirm their continued membership every six months. In the event that a current voting member relinquishes their seat, the remaining voting working group members are responsible for appointing a new voting member to fill the seat from the active Fedora Base community via majority consensus.

Current Members

Making Decisions

Because Fedora is a global project, members of the working group may be distributed across multiple timezones. It may be possible to have real-time IRC meetings or Google+ hangouts, but in general we will conduct business on the mailing list or announce either IRC meetings or Google+ hangout events in advance should they take place.

The Base Working Group strives to work on consensus and only vote on things where it’s clear people aren’t going to be convinced to agree. Many of our decisions can be made through "lazy consensus." Under this model, an intended action is announced on the mailing list, discussed, and if there is no controversy or dissenting views with a few days, simply done.

For bigger issues, where there may be disagreement within the Base Working Group itself where the necessary quorum is not reached (with 5 members being required for quorum,) or where there is long-term impact, or where an action may not easily be undone, we will schedule an IRC meeting during which a vote will be conducted. In the case where a voting member can not make a meeting, they can either pre-vote via the mailing list or abstain-by-default. Five positive votes will be required, regardless of the number of voting members present, for a proposal to be accepted.

Changing these Rules

This document will be approved by consensus of the initial Base Working Group members and approved by FESCo. After initial ratification, any substantive changes can be approved by majority vote and sent to FESCo for acceptance.