OLPC/Fedora on XO

From FedoraProject

< OLPC(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Fedora on XO Testing Volunteers)
 
(24 intermediate revisions by 17 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
= Testing the Fedora on XO =
+
Efforts to make Fedora run well on OLPC XO hardware.
  
When OLPC starts their next Give 1 Get 1 program, there will be an option to purchase an upgrade that will allow users to run a standard Linux desktop, based on Fedora 10, on their XO system.
+
== TODO ==
  
In order to make sure that this works properly, we need testers. And we are willing to swap testing time for (almost) free XOs.
+
* https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=461806
 +
* [[OLPC/Packages_for_F11]]
  
Sound like fun?  Want to participate?  Here's what you do.
+
== Fedora 11 rawhide builds ==
 +
A "spin" of Fedora rawhide (the development version of Fedora 11 Linux) incorporating recent Linux software packages, the Sugar desktop UI and a more conventional Gnome desktop, for the XO-1.
  
1. Add your name and contact info to the list below.
+
http://wiki.laptop.org/go/Rawhide-XO
  
2. Purchase a Sandisk Extreme III SD card, in either [http://www.sandisk.com/Products/Item(1973)-SDSDX3-2048-SanDisk_Extreme_III_SD_2GB.aspx 2 Gig] or [http://www.sandisk.com/Products/ProductInfo.aspx?ID=2348 4 Gig] capacity.  (This is where the "mostly" free part comes in.)
+
== Sugar on a Stick ==
 +
http://sugarlabs.org/go/Sugar_on_a_Stick is a project to create a "live" bootable image that presents the Sugar UI of the OLPC on top of Fedora.  It's designed to run off a USB flash drive and boot on most x86 PCs. There are instructions on how to boot it on an XO-1.
  
3. Install Fedora on said SD card.  We will tell you how later.
+
== Testing Fedora 10 on XO ==
  
4. Agree that you will spend at least 20 hours between now and late October testing Fedora on your XO, reporting your findings back to us in ways that we will make clear later.
+
For the 2008 OLPC Give 1 Get 1 program, there was an option to purchase an upgrade that will allow users to run a standard Linux desktop, based on Fedora 10, on their XO system.
  
5. Receive your (mostly) free XO. :)
+
In order to make sure that this works properly, we need testers. If you have an XO, please help.
  
That's it.  You need to be moderately Linux-savvy -- know how to bring up a terminal, for instance -- but beyond that, you mostly need to be willing to put in the testing time and able to follow simple directions.
+
Please see the [[QA/TestPlans/Fedora10_On_XO|Master Test Plan]] for Fedora 10 on XO.
  
Add your name to the list below!
+
[[Category:OLPC]]
 
+
 
+
= Fedora on XO Testing Volunteers =
+
 
+
'''NOTE: NO MORE ADDITIONS, PLEASE.  WE HAVE A SUFFICIENT POOL OF VOLUNTEERS.  WE WILL BE IN CONTACT WITH THOSE SELECTED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE PROGRAM.'''
+
 
+
* Kathleen Grigsby (grigsby@morainevalley.edu)
+
* Ben Freeman (bfreeman@redhat.com)
+
* Roger French (roger@rbhsfrench.com)
+
* Carol Boyle (boylec@morainevalley.edu)
+
* Kelly Loizzo (OLPC@live.com)
+
* Patricia Galien (galien@morainevalley.edu)
+
* Blagovest Petrov (blagovest at petrovs dot info)
+
* Christian Eckrich (chris_eck79 at yahoo.de)
+
* Greg DeKoenigsberg (gdk at redhat dot com)
+
* Rahul Sundaram (sundaram@fedoraproject.org)
+
* James Laska (jlaska at redhat dot com)
+
* Joshua Daniel Franklin (joshuadfranklin at yahoo dot com)
+
* David Nalley (david at gnsa dot us)
+
* Eric Sandeen (sandeen at sandeen dot net)
+
* Rich Sharples (sharps@softwhere.org)
+
* Brent Langston (brentley at brentley dot net)
+
* Jatin Nansi (jnansi at gmail dot com)
+
* Erik M Jacobs (erikmjacobs@gmail.com)
+
* Rodney Russ (rdruss4alt at gmail dot com)
+
* Trask Bryant Trojanek (trojatra@trojarts.com)
+
* Brian Witt (brianwitt at gmail dot com)
+
* Andy Burns (andy at burns dot net)
+
* Scott Abbey (scott at eotr dot net)
+
* John Dennis (jdennis at redhat dot com)
+
* '''Kevin Higgins''': [mailto:crossbytes@fedoraproject.org Kevin Higgins]
+
* Chris Wright (chrisw at redhat dot com)
+
* Jan Mark Holzer (jmh at redhat dot com)
+
* Jef Spaleta (jspaleta at gmail dot com)
+
* Adam Huffman (adam.huffman at gmail dot com)
+
* Jeffrey Tadlock (linux at elfshadow dot net)
+
* Josh Boyer (jwboyer at gmail dot net)
+
* Timo Trinks (ttrinks at redhat dot com)
+
* Luya Tshimbalanga (luya at fedoreaproject dot org)
+
* Saurabh Bathe (sbathe at redhat dot com)
+
* Andrew Dingman (acd at redhat dot com)
+
* Jon Masters (jcm@jonmasters.org)
+
* Stuart R. Kirk (stuart at redhat dot com)
+
* Robin Price II (rprice at redhat dot com)
+
* Scott Stevenson (scott at web-ster dot com)
+
* Matthew Galgoci < mgalgoci / redhat \ com >
+
* Brian Pepple (bpepple at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Heherson Pagcaliwagan (azneita at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Christopher Desjardins (cddesjardins at gmail dot com)
+
* Marcus Lines (malines at gmail dot com)
+
* Ade Lee (alee at redhat dot com)
+
* Kevin Sonney (kevin at sonney dot com)
+
* Ignacio Vazquez-Abrams (ivazqueznet at gmail dot com)
+
* Elizabeth Ann West (elizabeth at eawestwriting dot com)
+
* Ty Fridrich (tyf at redhat dot com)
+
* Michael Solberg (msolberg at redhat dot com)
+
* Dave Yates (dsyates at lottalinuxlinks dot com)
+
* Dan Young (dyoung at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Marco Rhodes (mrhodes at redhat dot com)
+
* Terry Stewart (terry.stewart at gmail dot com)
+
* Eugene Teo (eugeneteo at kernel dot sg)
+
* Luke Macken (lmacken at redhat dot com)
+
* Tarus Balog (tarus at opennms dot org)
+
* Jeff Needle (jneedle at redhat dot com)
+
* Rodrigo Pimentel (rbp at isnomore dot net)
+
* david d zuhn (zoo at stpaulterminal dot org)
+
* Rob Kearey (robk at ningaui dot net)
+
* Harish Pillay (harish at redhat dot com)
+
* Asgeir Frimannsson (asgeirf at redhat dot com)
+
* John Cooper (john.cooper at redhat dot com)
+
* Brian Powell (bpowell01 at gmail dot com)
+
* Josh Bressers (bressers at redhat dot com)
+
* Dimitris Glezos (dimitris at glezos dot com)
+
* Bryan Kearney (bkearney at redhat dot com)
+
* Craig Cunningham (craigevil at gmail dot com)
+
* Kevin Wright (kwright at redhat dot com)
+
* Dennis Johnson (drjohnson1 / googlemail  com)
+
* Blake St. Claire (blakestclaire at gmail dot com)
+
* John Cullen (jcathan at gmail dot com)
+
* [[User:JohnPoelstra|John Poelstra]]
+
* David Walluck (dwalluck at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Justin Neumann (justin at xthat dot com)
+
* Summer Maynard (summer at redhat dot com)
+
* Stacy Brandenburg (sbranden at gmail d0t com)
+
* John Beimler ( jbeimler at radiomind dot com)
+
* Benjamin Reed ( rangerrick at befunk dot com)
+
* Jeff Weiss ( jweiss at redhat dott com )
+
* Henry McBride ( henry.mcbride at gmail dot com)
+
* Ryan McCabe ( rmccabe at redhat dot com)
+
* Adrian Mandy ( adrian at weelife dot com )
+
* Alasdair Kergon ( agk at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Ian Main (imain at redhat dot com)
+
* Adam Ligas (agent86 at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Tom Lamar (thomas dot lamar at students dot olin dot edu
+
* Ido Rosen (ido at uchicago dot edu) (fedora at idorosen dot com)
+
* Velin Dimitrov (velin.dimitrov at yahoo dot com)
+
* Teguh DC (dheche at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Mel Chua (mel at melchua dot com) - already have an XO, but still wants to test (an SD card would help)
+
* Jiri Pechanec (jpechane at redhat dot com)
+
* Martin Vecera (mvecera at redhat dot com)
+
* Pavel Macik (pmacik at redhat dot com)
+
* Richard Fontana (rfontana at redhat dot com)
+
* Jeffrey Atkinson (jeffrey dot atkinson at students dot olin dot edu)
+
* Colin Zwiebel (colin dot zwiebel at students dot olin dot edu)
+
* Xavier Y. Ziemba (xy dot ziemba at gmail dot com) (xavier dot ziemba at students dot olin dot edu)
+
* Justin Sherrill (jsherril at redhat dooot com)
+
* Victoria Hsiao (victoria dot hsiao at students dot olin dot edu)
+
* Jason Curtis (jason aaaattt... students dot olin dot edu
+
* Miguel Bejar (miguel dot bejar at students dot olin dot edu)
+
* Shawn Heard (s.k.heard at gmail dot com)
+
* Stefan Unterhauser (stefan at unterhauser dot name)
+
* Steve Salevan (ssalevan at redhat dot com)
+
* Chris Marra (christopher dot marra at students olin dot edu)
+
* Chris Gooley (c dot gooley at gmail dot com)
+
* [[AlexanderTodorov|Alexander Todorov]] (atodorov redhat com)
+
* Jan Pazdziora (jpazdziora at redhat dot com)
+
* David Kvarnberg (david at mellow dot net)
+
* Cristóbal Palmer [mailto:cmp@cmpalmer.org Cristóbal Palmer]
+
* Amit Shah [mailto:shahamit@gmail.com Amit Shah]
+
* Hristo Ivanov (hristo.atanassov gmail com)
+
* Frank weyns (fweyns at redhat dot com)
+
* David Nielsen ( dnielsen at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Neil Ormos [mailto:ormos-fedora@ormos.org Neil Ormos]
+
* Fabian Affolter ( fab at fedoraproject dot org )
+
* Werner Gold ( wgold at redhat dot com )
+
* Max Spevack (mspevack at redhat dot com)
+
* Ivo Studensky (istudens at redhat dot com)
+
* Sean Flanigan (sflaniga at redhat dot com)
+
* Jonathan Roberts (jonrob @ fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Edward Mokurai Cherlin [mailto:echerlin@gmail.com Mokurai]
+
* Pablo Iranzo Gómez [mailto:Pablo.Iranzo@redhat.com Pablo Iranzo]
+
* Ali Darab (ali[dot]darab[at]gmail[dot]com)
+
* Eva Teixeira Carballeda [mailto:Eva.Teixeira@gmail.com Eva Teixeira]
+
* Carles Valentines [mailto:Carles.Valentines@redhat.com Carles Valentines]
+
* Vadim Grinco (vgrinco at redhat dot com)
+
* Cezar Fistik (cezar dot fistik at cz dot ibm dot com)
+
* David Cantrell (dcantrell at redhat dot com)
+
* Juan Antonio Burgos (jabl at bioqui dot cie dot ubu dot es)
+
* Sarantis Paskalis (sarantis at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Jens Kuehnel (jens kuehnel org)
+
* Juraci Paixao Krohling (jcosta at redhat dot com)
+
* [[User:sharkcz|Dan Horák]] (dan at danny.cz)
+
* Veaceslav Falico (veaceslav at falico dot eu)
+
* Sander Vermin (sander at vermin dot nl)
+
* [[User:lfoppiano|Luca Foppiano]]
+
* Nicu Buculei (nicubunu at gmail dot com)
+
* Ruth Suehle (rsuehle at redhat dot com)
+
* Luca Botti (lbotti at byte-code.com)
+
* Pep Turró Mauri (pep at redhat dot com)
+
* Joe Orton (jorton at redhat dot com)
+
* [[User:pcfe|Patrick C. F. Ernzer]] (pcfe at Red Hat)
+
* Ronald Pottol (ronaldpottol at gmail dot com)
+
* Imed Chihi (ichihi at redhat dot com)
+
* [[User:Abo|Alexander Boström]] (abo at fedoraproject.org)
+
* Rahul Murmuria (rmurmuri at gmu dot edu)
+
* Bill Kerr (billkerr at gmail dot com)
+
* Sindre Pedersen Bjørdal (sindrepb at fedoraproject.org)
+
* [[User:johannbg | Jóhann Benedikt Guðmundsson ]][mailto:johannbg@fedoraproject.org]
+
* [[User:trellis|Thomas Ellis]] (trellis at redhat dot com)
+
* Peter Robinson (pbrobinson at gmail.com)
+
* Jon Fautley (jon at dead dot li)
+
* Jehudi Castro (jcastro at redhat dot com)
+
* Daniel Berrange (berrange at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Kåre Fiedler Christiansen (fedora at kaarefc dot dk)
+
* Mads Villadsen (maxx at krakoa dot dk)
+
* Davide Benini (dbenini at redhat dot com)
+
* Juan David Hincapié Ramos(jdhr at itu dot dk)
+
* Stuart Sears (ssears at redhat dot com)
+
* Christopher J. Buckley (cbuckley at redhat dot com)
+
* Gianluca Varisco (gvarisco at redhat dot com)
+
* Jere Sanisalo (xm_fedoraproject_olpc at xmunkki dot org)
+
* Ghe Rivero (ghe at debian dot org)
+
* David Juran (djuran at redhat dot com)
+
* Rob Costello (costello.rob.r at edumail.vic.gov.au)
+
* Jay Turner (jkt at redhat dot com)
+
* Karl Abbott (kabbott at redhat dot com)
+
* Fabrice Bellet (fabrice at bellet dot info)
+
* Stephen Gallagher (sgallagh at redhat dot com)
+
* Mike Santangelo (msantang at redhat dot com)
+
* Christine Fornfeist (&#x66;&#x65;&#x64;&#x6F;&#x72;&#x61;&#x2E;&#x6F;&#x6E;&#x2E;&#x78;&#x6F;&#x40;&#x62;&#x61;&#x73;&#x68;&#x74;&#x61;&#x72;&#x64;&#x2E;&#x6F;&#x72;&#x67;)
+
* Ole Popp (&#x6F;&#x6C;&#x65;&#x40;&#x68;&#x61;&#x6D;&#x62;&#x75;&#x72;&#x67;&#x2E;&#x63;&#x63;&#x63;&#x2E;&#x64;&#x65;)
+
* Tim Waugh (twaugh at redhat dot com)
+
* Radek Vokal (rvokal at redhat dot com)
+
* Matthias Runge (mrunge at fedoraproject dot org)
+
* Ludek Smid (lsmid at redhat dot com)
+
* Chris Antony (chris.antony at gmail dot com)
+
* Andrzej Dudek (dudek.andrzej at gmail dot com)
+
* Kelcy Adamec (kelcy.adamec@students.olin.edu)
+
* Adam Dobrowolski (adadamus at gmail dot com)
+
* Brenton Leanhardt (bleanhar at redhat dot com)
+
* Larry Langellier (langellier at morainevalley dot edu)
+
* Drew Stinnett (drew at drewlink dot com)
+
* Matt Werner (mkwerner at gmail dot com)
+
* Bill Burns (billburnseh at gmail dot com)
+
* Ted Brunell (ted dot brunell at gmail dot com)
+
* Karsten Wade (quaid at fedoraproject dot org) + daughters (10 and 7) who love testing
+
* Tomasz Szymanski (tszymans at redhat dot com)
+
* Arthur Dent (ad at arthurdent dot info)
+
* Matt Farrellee (matt at redhat dot com)
+
* Petr Muller (pmuller@redhat.com)
+
* Adam Warski (adam at warski dot org)
+
* Alessandro Gardich (gremlin # gremlin ! it)
+
* Scott Seago (sseago at redhat dot com)
+
* Ben Hagen (benhagen ATTYAT gmail DITITTYDITDOT com)
+
* Marin Manev ( marinmanev@gmail.com )
+
* Sumit Bose (sbose at redhat dot com)
+
* Todd Warner ( taw AT pobox DOT com )
+
* Yovko Yovkov (yyovkov __AT__ yyovkov DOT net)
+
* Edward Karavakis ( edward DOT karavakis AT cern DOT ch )
+
* Larry Nussbaumer ( lfn3 AT comcast DOT net )
+
* Joshua Giles ( jgiles AT redhat DOT com )
+
* Ondrej Skutka ( oskutka A.T redhat D.O.T com )
+
* [[User:Axjslack|Alexjan Carraturo]] ( axjslack AT gmail DOT com )
+
* Thomas Baker ( tjb AT unh DOT edu )
+
* Ivaylo Tsanov (itsanov a. gips do. net)
+
* Valentin Petkov (skyval@gmail.com)
+
* Steve Cicirelli (scicirelli at gamil dot com)
+
* Yassen Gorbounov (gorbounov a. gmail do. com)
+
* Neil Horman (nhorman at redhat dot com)
+
* Martin Lazarov (lazarov at mail dot bg)
+
* Phil Sides (altoidman at altoidman dot com)
+
* Atanas Mitrev ( pureevil at gmbd dot eu)
+
* Michael Burns (mburns at redhat dot com)
+
* Rob Wilmoth (rwilmoth at redhat dot com)
+
* Jaroslaw Kijanowski (jkijanow at redhat dot com)
+
* Gavin Romig-Koch (gavin at redhat dot com)
+
* Alexander Tenishev ( alexten at abv dot bg )
+
* Richard Ryder ( rryder att redhat d0t com)
+
* Mike Bonnet (mikeb at redhat dot com)
+
* Ventsislav Kainaktchiev (venkain at gmail dot com)
+
* Kamen Bundev (bundyo at gmail dot com)
+
* [https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/User:Rishi Debarshi Ray] (debarshi.ray at gmail.com)
+
* [[User:Core|Ivo Vachkov]] ( ivo.vachkov AT gmail DOT com )
+
* [[User:Uosiu|Krzysztof Hajdamowicz]] ( uosiu AT fedoraproject DOT org)
+
* Jacob Hunt ( jhunt AT redhat DOT com )
+
* [[User:kamenov|Dimitar Kamenov]] (kamenov at gmail dot com)
+
* John Kjellman (jkjellman at comcast dot net)
+
* Jason McBrayer (jmcbray at carcosa dot net)
+
* Kent Sebastian ( ksebasti AT redhat DOT com )
+
* Toni Atanasov ( atanassov AT yahoo DOT com )
+
* Alexander Iliev ( sasoiliev AT mamul DOT org )
+
* Vladimir Nasvadi ( vnasvadi AT orbitel DOT bg)
+
* Kevin Kalmbach (kevin.kalmbach AT gmail DOT com )
+
* Juan Quintela (quintela AT redhat DOT com )
+
* Paul Trezise (paultz AT gmail DOT com )
+
* Bonnie Dalzell (bdalzell at QIS dot net)
+
* Mike Simpson ( treaps at gee mail docomo
+
* Erich Morisse ( erich.morisse at g mail dot com )
+
* Benjamin Kahn ( xkahn at zoned dot net )
+
* JP Renaud (jprenaud at gmail dot com)
+
* [[User:avataar|Pavel Mihaylov]] (bin/at/bash/dot/info)
+
* David Cafaro ( dac AT cafaro DOT net )
+
* Wes Hayutin (whayutin AT redhat DOT com)
+
* Paul Novarese (pvn at redhat dot com)
+
* Hans Sittler (hsittler AT csta DOT acm DOT org
+
* Stephen Foskett (firstname at lastname followed by the letter s to make it plural dot net)
+
* John W. Linville (linville@redhat.com)
+
* Robin Wittler (&#x72;&#x65;&#x61;&#x6C;&#x40;&#x67;&#x65;&#x65;&#x6B;&#x2D;&#x61;&#x74;&#x2D;&#x77;&#x6F;&#x72;&#x6B;&#x2E;&#x6F;&#x72;&#x67;)
+
* George Pavlov (excessmind at gmail dot com)
+
* Hristo Mihaylov (hmihaylov at gmail dot com)
+
* Dimitar Baberkov (manosbg@gmail.com)
+
* Pedro "Reynard" Loustaunau (a.crimson.fox@gmail.com)
+
* Daniel Mach (dmach at redhat dot com)
+
* Lillian Angel (langel@redhat.com)
+
* Anders Lannerbäck (anders at lannerback dot net)
+
* Susan Lauber ( susan at ties dot org)
+
* Jean-Francois Saucier (jfsaucier at infoglobe dot ca)
+
* Vasilen Lazarov (vasilen (-AT-) gmail (-dot-) com)
+
* Slaveyko Mirkov (slavi_mir at abv dot bg)
+
* Michael McCune (mjmccune at gmail dot com)
+
* Elliott Baron (ebaron at redhat dot com)
+
* Matthias Kranz (mkranz at redhat dot com)
+
* Bill Peck (bpeck at redhat dot com)
+
* Stephen Smoogen [mailto:smooge@gmail.com] [has kid to test.]
+
* Karlos Smith (kasmith redhat com)
+
* Josh Restad (josh.restad AT gmail.com) [With an interested group of college students]
+
* Alexandar Angelov (sasho DOT angelov AT gmail DOT com)
+
* [[User:zoglesby|Zach Oglesby]] (oglesbyzm@gmail.com)
+
* Julie Keaty (keatyj2@morainevalley.edu)
+
* Leon Xiang Li (xli@redhat.com)
+
* Aaron Schlaegel (tahder08 at schlaegel dot com)
+

Latest revision as of 21:33, 6 July 2009

Efforts to make Fedora run well on OLPC XO hardware.

Contents

[edit] TODO

[edit] Fedora 11 rawhide builds

A "spin" of Fedora rawhide (the development version of Fedora 11 Linux) incorporating recent Linux software packages, the Sugar desktop UI and a more conventional Gnome desktop, for the XO-1.

http://wiki.laptop.org/go/Rawhide-XO

[edit] Sugar on a Stick

http://sugarlabs.org/go/Sugar_on_a_Stick is a project to create a "live" bootable image that presents the Sugar UI of the OLPC on top of Fedora. It's designed to run off a USB flash drive and boot on most x86 PCs. There are instructions on how to boot it on an XO-1.

[edit] Testing Fedora 10 on XO

For the 2008 OLPC Give 1 Get 1 program, there was an option to purchase an upgrade that will allow users to run a standard Linux desktop, based on Fedora 10, on their XO system.

In order to make sure that this works properly, we need testers. If you have an XO, please help.

Please see the Master Test Plan for Fedora 10 on XO.