From Fedora Project Wiki

< I18N

Revision as of 08:39, 20 April 2009 by Paragn (talk | contribs) (Dictionaries)



This page provides keyboard layout maps for Indic scripts.

Required packages for using Input method

To use any Indic keyboard layout required packages to be installed are scim, scim-m17n, m17n-lib, m17n-db and m17n-contrib (alternatively uim and uim-m17n can be used instead of scim). Keyboard layouts are stored in *.mim files which are installed from m17n-db and m17n-contrib packages. To know more about scim check the SCIM page .

Keyboard Layouts

Language Inscript Itrans Phonetic Typewriter Others
Assamese yes yes yes no no
Bengali yes yes no no Probhat
Chhattisgarhi no no no no
Gujarati yes yes yes no no
Hindi yes yes yes yes remington
Kannada yes yes no no Kgp
Kashmiri no no no no
Konkani no no no no
Maithili yes no no no
Malayalam yes yes no no Mozhi, Swanalekha
Marathi yes yes yes no no
Oriya yes yes yes no no
Punjabi yes yes yes no Jhelum
Sanskrit no no no no harvard-kyoto
Sindhi yes no no no no
Tamil yes yes yes yes Tamil99, lk-renganathan
Telugu yes yes no no Apple, Pothana, Rts
Nepali no no no no Rom, Trad
Sinhala no no no no Wijesekera, Samanala, phonetic-dynamic, phonetic-static, trans


Fedora 9 onwards we have hunspell packages as part of dictionary support for all major applications and default GNOME/KDE spell checking. But still some packages are using aspell dictionaries.The preference order for various dictionaries is defined currently in /usr/share/enchant/enchant.ordering file.

Language hunspell
Assamese Not Available
Bengali hunspell-bn
Chhattisgarhi Not Available
Gujarati hunspell-gu
Hindi hunspell-hi
Kannada Not Available
Kashmiri Not Available
Konkani Not Available
Maithili Not Available
Malayalam hunspell-ml
Marathi hunspell-mr
Nepali hunspell-ne
Oriya hunspell-or
Punjabi hunspell-pa
Sanskrit Not Available
Sindhi Not Available
Tamil hunspell-ta
Telugu hunspell-te