From Fedora Project Wiki

< I18N

Revision as of 10:56, 20 April 2009 by Paragn (talk | contribs) (Required packages for using Input method)



This page provides Language support matrix for Indic scripts for various components.

Fonts list

  • Languages that are supported in glibc are shown in green colour
  • Languages that are not supported in glibc are shown in red colour
Language Font package name
Assamese lohit-assamese-fonts
Bengali lohit-bengali-fonts
Gujarati lohit-gujarati-fonts, samyak-gujarati-fonts
Hindi lohit-hindi-fonts, sarai-fonts, samyak-devanagari-fonts
Kannada lohit-kannada-fonts
Kashmiri lohit-kashmiri-fonts
Maithili lohit-maithili-fonts
Malayalam lohit-malayalam-fonts, smc-anjalioldlipi-fonts, smc-dyuthi-fonts, smc-kalyani-fonts, smc-meera-fonts, smc-rachana-fonts, smc-raghumalayalam-fonts, smc-suruma-fonts, samyak-malayalam-fonts
Marathi lohit-marathi-fonts
Nepali lohit-nepali-fonts, madan-fonts
Oriya lohit-oriya-fonts,samyak-oriya-fonts
Punjabi lohit-punjabi-fonts
Sindhi lohit-sindhi-fonts
Tamil lohit-tamil-fonts, samyak-tamil-fonts
Telugu lohit-telugu-fonts

Required packages for using Input method

To use any Indic keyboard layout required packages to be installed are ibus, ibus-m17n, m17n-lib, m17n-db and m17n-contrib (alternatively scim and scim-m17n as well as uim and uim-m17n can be used instead of ibus). Keyboard layouts are stored in *.mim files which are installed from m17n-db and m17n-contrib packages.

To know more about scim check the IBus page .

To know more about scim check the SCIM page .

Keyboard Layouts

Language Inscript Itrans Phonetic Typewriter Others
Assamese yes yes yes no no
Bengali yes yes no no Probhat
Chhattisgarhi no no no no
Gujarati yes yes yes no no
Hindi yes yes yes yes remington
Kannada yes yes no no Kgp
Kashmiri no no no no
Konkani no no no no
Maithili yes no no no
Malayalam yes yes no no Mozhi, Swanalekha
Marathi yes yes yes no no
Oriya yes yes yes no no
Punjabi yes yes yes no Jhelum
Sanskrit no no no no harvard-kyoto
Sindhi yes no no no no
Tamil yes yes yes yes Tamil99, lk-renganathan
Telugu yes yes no no Apple, Pothana, Rts
Nepali no no no no Rom, Trad
Sinhala no no no no Wijesekera, Samanala, phonetic-dynamic, phonetic-static, trans


Fedora 9 onwards we have hunspell packages as part of spell checker dictionary support for all major applications and default GNOME/KDE spell checking. But still some packages are using aspell dictionaries.The preference order for various dictionaries is defined currently in /usr/share/enchant/enchant.ordering file.

Fedora 11 onwards we have hyphen packages as part of hyphenation dictionary support for applications.

Language hunspell hyphen
Assamese Not Available Not Available
Bengali hunspell-bn hyphen-sa
Chhattisgarhi Not Available Not Available
Gujarati hunspell-gu hyphen-gu
Hindi hunspell-hi hyphen-hi
Kannada Not Available hyphen-kn
Kashmiri Not Available Not Available
Konkani Not Available Not Available
Maithili Not Available Not Available
Malayalam hunspell-ml hyphen-ml
Marathi hunspell-mr Not Available
Nepali hunspell-ne Not Available
Oriya hunspell-or hyphen-or
Punjabi hunspell-pa hyphen-pa
Sanskrit Not Available hyphen-sa
Sindhi Not Available Not Available
Tamil hunspell-ta hyphen-ta
Telugu hunspell-te hyphen-te