From Fedora Project Wiki

< I18N‎ | Indic
Revision as of 14:29, 18 September 2016 by Jibecfed (talk | contribs) (internal link cleaning)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)



本页面讲述了如何rovides Language support matrix for Indic scripts for various components.


如果您想在您的 Fedora 中添加您的语言,请按照以下步骤来做。

yum groupinstall <您想要添加的语言的语言代码>-support


yum groupinstall hindi-support.


yum groupremove <language_name>-support


yum groupremove hindi-support.

Language Locale code Default Font package Input method fontconfig anaconda comps
Assamese as_IN lohit-assamese-fonts as-phonetic.mim yes yes yes
Bengali bn_IN lohit-bengali-fonts bn-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Bodo brx_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts brx-inscript2-deva.mim no no no
Dogri no lohit-devanagari-fonts doi-inscript2-deva.mim no no no
Gujrati gu_IN lohit-gujarati-fonts gu-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Hindi hi_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts hi-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Kannada kn_IN lohit-kannada-fonts kn-kgp.mim yes yes yes
Kashmiri ks_IN lohit-assamese-fonts ks-kbd.mim yes no yes
Konkani kok_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts kok-inscript2-deva.mim yes no yes
Maithili mai_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts mai-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Malayalam ml_IN smc-meera-fonts ml-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Manipuri no lohit-bengali-fonts mni-inscript2-beng.mim no no no
Marathi mr_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts mr-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Nepali ne_NP madan-fonts ne-rom.mim yes yes yes
Oriya or_IN lohit-oriya-fonts or-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Punjabi pa_IN lohit-punjabi-fonts pa-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Sanskrit sa_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts sa-harvard-kyoto.mim yes no yes
Santhali no lohit-devanagari-fonts sat-inscript2-deva.mim no no no
Sindhi sd_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts sd-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Tamil ta_IN lohit-tamil-fonts ta-typewriter.mim yes yes yes
Telugu te_IN lohit-telugu-fonts te-inscript.mim yes yes yes
Urdu ur_IN paktype-naqsh-fonts ur-phonetic.mim yes no yes

Fonts list

  • Languages that are supported in glibc are shown in green colour
  • Languages that are not supported in glibc are shown in red colour
Language Locale code Default Font package Other available Fonts
Assamese as_IN lohit-assamese-fonts
Bengali bn_IN lohit-bengali-fonts
Bodo brx_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts
Dogri doi_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts
Gujarati gu_IN lohit-gujarati-fonts samyak-gujarati-fonts
Hindi hi_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts sarai-fonts, samyak-devanagari-fonts
Kannada kn_IN lohit-kannada-fonts
Kashmiri ks_IN@devanagari lohit-devanagari-fonts
Konkani kok_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts
Maithili mai_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts
Malayalam ml_IN smc-meera-fonts lohit-malayalam-fonts, smc-anjalioldlipi-fonts, smc-dyuthi-fonts, smc-kalyani-fonts, smc-rachana-fonts, smc-raghumalayalam-fonts, smc-suruma-fonts, samyak-malayalam-fonts
Manipuri mni_IN, mni_IN@bengali lohit-bengali-fonts,tabish-eeyek-fonts
Marathi mr_IN lohit-devanagari-fonts
Nepali ne_NP madan-fonts lohit-devanagari-fonts
Oriya or_IN lohit-oriya-fonts samyak-oriya-fonts
Punjabi pa_IN lohit-punjabi-fonts saab-fonts
Sanskrit sa_IN
Santhali sat_IN@devanagari, sat_IN
Sindhi sd_IN@devanagari lohit-devanagari-fonts
Tamil ta_IN lohit-tamil-fonts samyak-tamil-fonts, serafettin-cartoon-fonts
Telugu te_IN lohit-telugu-fonts pothana2000-fonts, vemana2000-fonts
Urdu ur_IN paktype-naskh-basic-farsi-fonts, paktype-naqsh-fonts, paktype-ajrak-fonts, paktype-tehreer-fonts, paktype-naskh-basic-fonts, paktype-naskh-basic-sa-fonts, paktype-naskh-basic-urdu-fonts, paktype-naskh-basic-sindhi-fonts, nafees-naskh-fonts, nafees-nastaleeq-fonts, nafees-pakistani-naskh-fonts, nafees-riqa-fonts, nafees-tehreer-naskh-fonts, nafees-web-naskh-fonts, google-droid-sans-fonts, sil-lateef-fonts,sil-scheherazade-fonts

Required packages for using Input method

Iok-Indic Onscreen Virtual Keyboard
If Inscript keymap is available for any Indic language then iok application can be used to input characters for that language.

To use any Indic keyboard layout required packages to be installed are ibus, ibus-m17n, m17n-lib, m17n-db and m17n-contrib (alternatively scim and scim-m17n as well as uim and uim-m17n can be used instead of ibus). Keyboard layouts are stored in *.mim files which are installed from m17n-db and m17n-contrib packages.

To know more about iBus check the IBus page .

To know more about scim check the SCIM page .

Keyboard Layouts

Language Default Inscript Itrans Phonetic Others
Assamese Phonetic yes yes yes -
Bengali Inscript yes yes - Probhat
Bodo - - - - -
Dogri - - - - -
Gujarati Inscript yes yes yes -
Hindi Inscript yes yes yes Remington, Typewriter, Vedmata
Kannada Kgp yes yes - -
Kashmiri kbd yes - - -
Konkani - - - - -
Maithili Inscript yes - - -
Malayalam Inscript yes yes - Mozhi, Swanalekha
Manipuri - - - - -
Marathi Inscript yes yes - -
Nepali Rom - - - Trad
Oriya Inscript yes yes yes -
Punjabi Inscript yes yes yes Jhelum
Sanskrit harvard-kyoto - - - -
Sindhi Inscript yes - - -
Tamil Tamil99 yes yes yes lk-renganathan, Vutum, Typewriter
Telugu Inscript yes - - Apple, Pothana, Rts
Urdu - - - yes -


Fedora 9 onwards we have hunspell packages as part of spell checker dictionary support for all major applications and default GNOME/KDE spell checking. But still some packages are using aspell dictionaries.The preference order for various dictionaries is defined currently in /usr/share/enchant/enchant.ordering file.

Fedora 11 onwards we have hyphen packages as part of hyphenation dictionary support for applications.

Language hunspell hyphen
Assamese hunspell-as hyphen-as
Bengali hunspell-bn hyphen-bn
Bodo N/A N/A
Dogri N/A N/A
Gujarati hunspell-gu hyphen-gu
Hindi hunspell-hi hyphen-hi
Kannada hunspell-kn hyphen-kn
Kashmiri N/A N/A
Konkani N/A N/A
Maithili hunspell-mai N/A
Malayalam hunspell-ml hyphen-ml
Manipuri N/A N/A
Marathi hunspell-mr hyphen-mr
Nepali hunspell-ne N/A
Oriya hunspell-or hyphen-or
Punjabi hunspell-pa hyphen-pa
Sanskrit N/A hyphen-sa
Santhali N/A N/A
Sindhi N/A N/A
Tamil hunspell-ta hyphen-ta
Telugu hunspell-te hyphen-te
Urdu N/A N/A