From Fedora Project Wiki

(Removed extraneous sentence.)
(Installation: grouplist not group list)
Line 8: Line 8:
  
 
<pre>
 
<pre>
dnf group list -v environment
+
dnf grouplist -v environment
 
</pre>
 
</pre>
 
  Available environment groups:
 
  Available environment groups:
Line 33: Line 33:
 
sudo dnf install @kde-desktop-environment
 
sudo dnf install @kde-desktop-environment
 
</pre>
 
</pre>
 
  
 
==Switching Desktop Session==
 
==Switching Desktop Session==
 
Once installed, you can switch to the new desktop simply by logging out and switching the session to the new desktop environment on the login screen. The exact method differs based on the display manager in use.
 
Once installed, you can switch to the new desktop simply by logging out and switching the session to the new desktop environment on the login screen. The exact method differs based on the display manager in use.
 
<!-- TODO - screenshots -->
 
<!-- TODO - screenshots -->

Revision as of 01:02, 21 August 2016

Fedora's default desktop environment is GNOME 3 in the Workstation spin, but it is very easy to try any of the many other desktop environments that are available without affecting your current desktop environment.

The desktop environment such as KDE, XFCE or MATE can be installed using GNOME Software or with dnf directly from the terminal

Installation

To use dnf, first find the full environment name using

dnf grouplist -v environment
Available environment groups:
  Fedora Server (server-product-environment)
  Fedora Workstation (workstation-product-environment)
  Fedora Cloud Server (cloud-server-environment)
  KDE Plasma Workspaces (kde-desktop-environment)
  Xfce Desktop (xfce-desktop-environment)
  LXDE Desktop (lxde-desktop-environment)
  Cinnamon Desktop (cinnamon-desktop-environment)
  LXQt Desktop (lxqt-desktop-environment)
  MATE Desktop (mate-desktop-environment)
  Sugar Desktop Environment (sugar-desktop-environment)
  Development and Creative Workstation (developer-workstation-environment)
  Web Server (web-server-environment)
  Infrastructure Server (infrastructure-server-environment)
  Basic Desktop (basic-desktop-environment)
  Minimal Install (minimal-environment)


For actual installation, type the following, and be sure to prefix with the @ sign

sudo dnf install @kde-desktop-environment

Switching Desktop Session

Once installed, you can switch to the new desktop simply by logging out and switching the session to the new desktop environment on the login screen. The exact method differs based on the display manager in use.