From Fedora Project Wiki

Revision as of 13:41, 22 July 2019 by Dcantrel (talk | contribs)



I work for Red Hat in platform engineering. Most of my work involves working on Anaconda, the friendly and exciting installer for Fedora and RHEL. I also work on other things, such as DHCP networking software (turned over to Jiri Popelka), IPv6 stuff, disk partitioning, and other things.

My work these days is on system libraries, utilities, and developer tools. I am upstream for [pykickstart](, [pyparted](, and [rpminspect]( I am working on various groups and teams trying to improve developer workflows and implement CI systems.

I live in Nashua, New Hampshire Honolulu, Hawaii Cambridge Medford, Massachusetts. I am married and have a daughter. I like Mexican food. I also enjoy zombie movies. I collect North American vehicle registration plates. I advocate for the daily use of the metric system in the United States. I use $2 notes whenever possible. I like travelling by train.


  • Email: dcantrell AT redhat DOT com
  • IRC: dcantrell on #fedora
  • GPG key: 8CB55649/213F 97EF 50AD 2D83 E8C3 9B85 E61B 238C 8CB5 5649
  • Fedora Account: dcantrel
  • Personal Site:

Activities within Fedora

  • Things I'm working on can be found at
  • Basically anything involving anaconda.
  • Anything involving rpminspect, pykickstart, and pyparted.
  • Maintaining old software in Fedora and EPEL that everyone has long since stopped caring about.
  • Various non-work things at (ok, probably some work stuff there too).
  • DevConf.US volunteer wrangling.