From Fedora Project Wiki

Line 52: Line 52:
== IRC ==
== IRC ==
You can find me on [] as '''NikTh''' or '''NickTh''', usually on channels: '''#fedora''', '''#fedora-el''' and '''#fedora-ask''' (''if I'm marked as being away, don't hesitate to ping me'').
You can find me on [] as '''NickTh''', usually on channels: '''#fedora''', '''#fedora-el''' and '''#fedora-ask''' (''if I'm marked as being away, don't hesitate to ping me'').
== Social Media ==
== Social Media ==

Revision as of 22:42, 27 June 2014

Nick Thom
Personal information
Location: Athens, Greece
Birthday: 1976
GPG key: D7CCB465

Fedora-specific information
FAS name: nickth
Fedora e-mail:
Fedora homepage:

Nick Thom


I deal with Linux since 2010. Self taught, I like to learn new things every day. Three operating systems (currently) are installed in my Laptop.

  1. Fedora
  2. Arch Linux
  3. Debian

Discovering the "real" Fedora

I discovered the real Fedora power almost recently. I knew about the distribution and the community, but until recently it was running on a virtual machine only. Since version 20 (and from the day one it was released), I have installed it on a mechanical hard drive that I have, mostly because I wanted to see the behavior of the system on a real hardware (and not on a virtual one). As I was seeing, learning and discovering the "real" Fedora, what impressed me more, was the speed and stability (as opposed on what I've heard or read about!).

Eventually, I decided to transfer the installation on my primary SSD and now is my primary Operating System.

Activities within Fedora

+ Currently participating in Ask Fedora helping users solving various problems, both on English and Greek sections.

+ Fedora Wiki Localization

+ Updates Testing

Contribution Commitment

Contribution commitment is a very difficult matter, when it comes to devote your time. In the past I have devoted much time contributing at various FLOSS projects/distributions (Ubuntu, Arch Linux...etc) and I continue on some of them.

Usually, I'm picking what I want to work on, and I dedicate my self there.

Helping users solving various problems is one of my hobbies, so It will not be difficult for me to contribute on Ask Fedora.

Another area I'm interesting is Wiki Localization. Most of users they know to read English, but reading an article at their own (native) language, I think is more...comfortable(apart that making the project multilingual/worldwide).

Updates Testing is enabled on my Fedora box anyway. Thus, I will use the Package-x-generic-16.pngfedora-easy-karma to give feedback on bodhi and help to ensure the stability of packages.

I can do a commitment devoting 2-4 hours per week, on aforementioned contribution areas.

Participation at events, also is not a problem. As a "normal" person, I consider that physical contact is more constructive than a Web/Internet one.


You can find me on as NickTh, usually on channels: #fedora, #fedora-el and #fedora-ask (if I'm marked as being away, don't hesitate to ping me).

Social Media

You can also find me at the following social media: