From Fedora Project Wiki

Giovanni Grieco
Giovanni Grieco
Personal Information
Birthday: March 1
Home: Italy
Fedora-specific Information
FAS-Name: corsaro
Miscellaneous Information
Private Mail:
GPG-Key: [1]
IRC: on in
Badges (25)
Involvement Let Me Introduce Myself Paranoid Panda White Rabbit Crypto Badger Building the Outer Ring (Copr Build II) Egg Baby Badger Building the Outer Ring (Copr Build I) Junior Badger (Badger I) Bona Fide Building the Outer Ring (Copr Build III) Discovery of the Footprints (Tester II) Ambassador Junior Editor In Search of the Bull (Tester I) Mugshot Science (Kernel Tester I) Building the Outer Ring (Copr Build IV) Embryo Tadpole Macaron (Cookie I) Froglet Community Messenger I Tadpole with Legs

Hi! My name is Giovanni Grieco, I am 23 years old and I come from Italy. Passionate about operating and control systems, I like messing up with Linux and devices. Currently, I am a graduate student in Cybersecurity and Telecommunications Engineering at Politecnico di Bari.

My interest in Fedora dates back to a long time ago, when I started to have problems with proprietary software, which I could fix only if I had the possibility to reprogram them. This issue was resolved when I discovered Linux and tried out some distributions here and there. What I appreciated the most was the insanely detailed documentation and the fact that it was open for modifications!

Around 4 years ago I chose Fedora as my primary OS. Fedora was able to catch my attention because it is so easy to customise and make it personal. As an example, I did a custom configuration for my colleagues at university, a common and unified development environment. It's so good that we did not have problems related to the OS and system differences anymore!

Today I do anything with Fedora, and I'm happy to assist my friends migrating to it: a difficult adventure, but exciting and full of small problems that I love to fix in my spare time!

Activities within Fedora

  • Fedora Ambassador
  • Professional lurker of devel mailing list

Activities outside Fedora

Professional Career

I love designing and implementing machine-vision based systems. Also I have a DevOps nature, automating my workflow and integrating development and testing environments.

Academic Career

I have a Bachelor of Engineering in Computer Science and Automation Engineering. I am the principal maintainer of IoD_Sim, an Internet of Drones simulator. If you are interested, ping me!

GDG Bari member

I have joined recently the Google Developer Group in my town. I'm happy to expose crazy ideas and organize wonderful events with extraordinary people! Most of these events and talks are all about open source technologies and software engineering methods like Agile Development.

Embedded Systems Engineer

I worked on the design and production of a control system powered by Linux and embedded in a Formula SAE car. I use a Raspberry Pi 3 B+ to do all the magic. This is not a job but an extracurricular activity at my university. What drove me most was the amount of knowledge that I acquired day after day about the Linux kernel and industrial communication protocols (such as CAN).