From Fedora Project Wiki

Iván Ariel Weinberg
Personal information
Location: Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Argentina
Birthday: May 4th, 1988

Fedora-specific information
FAS name: igeek88
Fedora e-mail:
Fedora homepage:

About me

Greetings, Fedora enthusiasts! =)

Welcome to my humble presentation page. I will try to sum up some basic information about me.

The human and non-geek sides

I was born in San Martín, Buenos Aires, Argentina on May 4th, 1988. My parents are called Nora and Gustavo. I have a younger brother called Aníbal who is trying to become a chemistry technician. He plays the electric guitar and does backing vocals on the band he's in. I have a daughter called Uma.

I studied English between years 1996 - 2005 and attended FCE Examination. However, I feel my foreign language knowledge is a bit rusty sometimes.

My non-IT related hobbies include:

  • Swimming.
  • Rollerblading.
  • City-cyclying.
  • Walking (and also trekking when I'm not in the city).
  • Going to the cinema and the theatre.
  • Writing poetry / short social-related essays.
  • Reading in general.
  • Playing the piano.
  • Playing the guitar.
  • Singing.
  • Attending metal and classical concerts.
  • Teaching.

The geek side

I was raised by two Computer Science professionals, developed interest in computers since an early age. First OS used was DOS back on 1991/1992/1993. Mainly using basic commands and playing video games under my dad's supervision.

I've dived into the wonderful GNU/Linux world as a self-taught enthusiast at first. Usually installing and breaking the operating system. Almost at the same time, I started reading forums and writing posts in them. Later on, I bought a couple of books and I finally took a leap of faith when I started taking some courses. I'm currently studying to become an IT infrastructure technician with a bit of knowledge from 'the dark side' (A.K.A. Windows), with plenty of networking, infrastructure, and GNU/Linux (mainly CentOS / Red Hat family).

My first distro was Ubuntu 09.04 back on April / May 2009. I came into this wondeful world thanks to a friend, who lent me a CD of that OS's Version.

I've fallen in love with Fedora since the moment we've met back in 2012/2013, and love it even more since, along with it's spins, and/or remixes. I currently have it installed on all the boxes I usually use: Fedora LXDE on my netbook, and Fedora Jam on my main Desktop. My RaspberryPi has Pidora installed. I also have a headless notebook, but I don't remember what it has installed and I currently do not use it (I may in a distant future for synchronised automatic backups over LAN, but I will probably install inside it FreeNAS or a similar distro). Maybe some day I'll try Security and Electronic Lab Spins.

I'd like to help Fedora in spreading the word and attending IT conferences to gather the faithful.

I've also read some hardware magazines in the past (Ages 15-17).

Latest work experience

Please take a look at my Linkedin profile for more information.


  • March 2014 - Present

Infrastructure Support Technician - Instituto Superior Tecnologico Empresarial Argentino (ISTEA)


  • April 2013 - January 2014

Linux Career (combo of courses to get LPIC-1 Certification).

  • November 2013 - March 2014: Red Hat, Debian, Networking, and Ethical Hacking online courses.

How to contact me


  • igeek_88

I'm usually on #fedora-ar


  • ivotkl

My most recent activity has been on with that same nickname. I've used some others in the past. I also have that nickname on Fedora Forums, [1].

Fedora Account

  • igeek88


  • @igeek_88


  • Iván Ariel Wishmaster


  • (I barely use it).

Where to read what I publish

Poetry blog

GNU/Linux blog

  • I should write in it more often. My long forgotten GNU/Linux notes from BA.
  • I have also been invited to write on a blog that's being built that belongs to Jose Caliandro. A great friend, full of geeky-ish wisdom about GNU/Linux and other platforms. Here's his website.

Random stuff blog